The NZU21 team have been crowned world youth netball champions after beating their trans-Tasman rivals, Australia, in a thrilling championship final in Glasgow.

The World Youth Netball Championships will be another New Zealand versus Australia showdown after the two southern hemisphere sides won their semi-finals earlier today.

Silver Ferns coach Waimarama Taumaunu has selected four players from the Haier Pulse’s successful 2013 campaign, along with new signing Irene van Dyk, in the squad which will contest the Constellation Cup against the Australian Diamonds next month.

Finished: 5th (8 wins, 5 losses)
Leading goal scorer: Caitlin Thwaites (396)
Leading rebounder: Katrina Grant (24)
Leading interceptor: Katrina Grant (31)
Leading deflector: Katrina Grant (60)
MVP: Katrina Grant

Netball Central Zone would like to congratulate our local and Haier Pulse players for their selection in the Silver Ferns Squad:

Captain Katrina Grant has committed to the Haier Pulse for the 2014 ANZ Championship season, having led the team to fifth place in their record-breaking 2013 campaign.

Netball is New Zealand's leading female sport at both the community and international level.  The sport has grown significantly over the past 10 years and has recently undertaken some exciting change. 

Wellington is set to establish its position as the venue for all future ANZAC Weekend sporting celebrations, as the city announces another major trans-Tasman event. Earlier this year, St Kilda Saints met the Sydney Swans in an historic ANZAC match, a first for both the Australia Football League (AFL) and the capital and next year elite netball is coming to the party.

 In 2014, Wellington will add the Haier Pulse and Melbourne Vixens to the capital’s events calendar when the teams play an ANZ Championship game at the TSB Arena on Saturday 26 April.